Reorganization of the Japanese Government Reorganization of the Japanese Government In implementation of the amended The National Government Organization Law and The Cabinet Law the Japanese Cabinet and the central ministries have been reorganized. The table below lists the structural units of the executive arm of the Japanese authorities. Some of the ministries have long official names given in the table in parenthesis after the more commonly used abbreviated name. The transcription of the Japanese names of the different ministries is provided for convenience - as some of them are in colloquial use by non-Japanese speakers. Further inquiries should be sent to: Structure of the Japanese Government as of January 6, 2001 Name in Japanese Official name in English Name prior reorganization Naikakufu Cabinet Office Prime Minister's Office Economic Planning Agency Okinawa Development Agency Koseirodosho (Korosho) Ministry of Health, Labor and Welfare, MHLW Ministry of Health and Welfare, MHW (Koseisho) Labor Ministry Norinsuisansho Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries, MAFF Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries, MAFF Keizaisangyosho Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry, METI Ministry of International Trade and Industry, MITI Kankyosho Ministry of the Environment Environment Agency Monbukagakusho Ministry of Education, Science and Technology (Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology) Education Ministry Science and Technology Agency Somusho Public Management Ministry (Ministry of Public Management, Home Affairs, Posts and Telecommunications) Post and Telecommunication Ministry Management and Coordination Agency Home Affairs Ministry Cont. Name in Japanese Official name in English Name prior reorganization Zaimusho Ministry of Finance Finance Ministry Kinyucho Financial Services Agency Financial Reconstruction Commission Gaimusho Ministry of Foreign Affairs, MOFA Ministry of Foreign Affairs, MOFA Homusho Ministry of Justice Ministry of Justice Kokudokotsusho Construction and Transport Ministry (Ministry of Land, Infrastructure and Transport) Hokkaido Development Agency Transport Ministry Construction Ministry National Land Agency Boeicho Defense Agency Defense Agency Kokkakoan-iinkai National Public Safety Commission National Public Safety Commission Note concerning the translation of the text All original documents issued by the Japanese Government, other authorities and industry group are issued only in Japanese, including their titles, table of contents and texts. Translation of the titles in English is provided here solely by the Jouhou Koukai Services. While utmost care has been taken both linguistically and organizationally to reflect into the English translation the language, abbreviations, professional jargon, style and conventions used in the original texts, no claims either expressed or implied are made for completeness and correctness. Some of the conventions used originate from legacy documents earlier translated to English under the supervision of the MHLW. The Japanese Government does not provide authorized (officially sanctioned) translations of its documents. The translations here are tentative. In a case of legal dispute, the original texts in Japanese will prevail. The translation, formatting, indexing and hyperlinking of the text are copyrights of the Jouhou Koukai Services LLC Worldwide Copyright (c) 2001-2004 by JKS LLC Reproduction in whole or part without permission is forbidden. JKS Document Japan Regulation Series Copyright (c) 2001-2004 by JKS LLC - 2 -